FAA awards three scholarships


FAIRBORN — The Fairborn Art Association awarded three recent high school graduates with a $1,000 art scholarship.

Natalya Sutarto, from Bellbrook High School, Emma Williams from Archbishop Carroll High School, and Hannah Hurst from Archbishop Alter High School were selected as winners of the scholarships. Sutarto will attend the Columbus College of Art and Science; Williams will attend the University of Cincinnati; and Hurst will attend Purdue University.

Letters were mailed to high school art teachers and guidance counselors in the Greene, Montgomery, Clark, and Miami county areas requesting that graduating seniors, who are going to pursue higher education in the fine arts or related discipline, submit digital copies of artwork for review. A committee of FAA members, comprising artists with many awards and years of experience, reviewed every entry. Of the many outstanding entries, three students were selected to receive a scholarship check.

Fairborn Art Association is located at the rear of the former school on North Central Avenue in an art gallery and educational center. Linda Brandenburg is the FAA president.

No posts to display