IUPUI joins Horizon League


INDIANAPOLIS – The Horizon League Board of Directors has unanimously approved the application for membership from Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) to join the Horizon League. IUPUI officially will join the league Saturday, July 1, and begin competition during the 2017-18 academic year.

“We are excited to welcome IUPUI to the Horizon League family,” said Horizon League Commissioner Jon LeCrone. “The Jaguars bring us tremendous competitive potential, particularly in men’s basketball, along with an engaged and energized city. Their addition solidifies our broad community partnerships in Indianapolis and is the right school at the right time.”

IUPUI boasts world-class athletics facilities, including Indiana Farmers Coliseum, which recently underwent a $53 million renovation and is home to the Jaguars’ men’s basketball program, and the IU Natatorium, which has hosted numerous major events, including the 2017 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, U.S. Olympic Trials and the USA Swimming & Diving National Championships.

The addition of IUPUI returns the Horizon League to 10 full members. The Jaguars compete in 18 of 19 Horizon League sports: men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s and women’s swimming, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s track and field (indoor and outdoor), softball and volleyball.

“We are excited about engaging with the other Horizon League member institutions to enhance the overall competitiveness of the league,” said IUPUI Director of Athletics Dr. Roderick Perry. “As an institution and athletics department, our mission, vision, and core values align closely with the Horizon League. This is an important step forward in the life of our athletics department.”

The Horizon League features public and private institutions that have impressive academic reputations and a storied tradition of broad-based athletic programs. Beginning July 1, league members will include Cleveland State University, the University of Detroit Mercy, the University of Illinois at Chicago, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Northern Kentucky University, Oakland University, the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wright State University and Youngstown State University.


Greene County News

Information provided by WSU Athletic Media Relations.

No posts to display