WSU falls in Horizon title game


CHICAGO — The Wright State baseball team led 1-0 early, only to see the University of Illinois at Chicago go in front for good with a three-run fifth as the Flames claimed the Horizon League Tournament title May 27 with a 4-2 decision at Curtis Granderson Stadium.

It took just three batters for the Raiders to grab the lead as Matt Morrow connected on a solo opposite field home run to left, his fifth of the season.

The score remained 1-0 until UIC tallied three runs in the fifth, the big blow being a two-run triple by eventual tournament MVP David Cronin.

WSU, though, cut the deficit to 3-2 with a run in the sixth as J.D. Orr walked, went to second on a Zach Weatherford bunt and scored on Gabe Snyder’s single up the middle.

The Flames, however, answered with a run of their own in the sixth and Wright State would get no closer.

Morrow, who was joined on the All-Tournament Team by teammates Snyder and Kevin Whatley, had two hits on the day.

Wright State closes its season with a final record of 38-21.

The Flames have earned the conference’s automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament as they advance to regionals for the first time since 2008. UIC (39-15) tied the school’s record for wins in a season. The Flames will be the No. 4 seed in top seed Southern Mississippi’s regional, which begins play June 2-5. Mississippi State is the regional’s No. 2 seed; South Alabama is seeded No. 3.

Greene County News

2017 Horizon League All-Tournament Team

WRIGHT STATE: Matt Morrow, Gabe Snyder, Kevin Whatley; NORTHERN KENTUCKY: Brad Bohlen, T.J. Alas; OAKLAND: Matt DiLeo, Tyler Pagano; ILLINOIS AT CHICAGO: Jake Dahlberg, Reid Birlingmair, Cody Bohanek, Mickey McDonald, David Cronin (MVP).

Story provided by WSU Athletic Media Relations

No posts to display