All-OHC athletes named


SPRINGFIELD — Several Cedarville and Greeneview student athletes were named to their respective All-Ohio Heritage Conference South Division basketball teams on Tuesday, March 14.

In girls basketball, a trio of area juniors made the All-OHC South Division first team: Cedarville standout Ise Bolender and Greeneview’s Frankie Fife and Faith Strickle joined Springfield Northeastern’s Hayley Suchland and South Player of the Year Jessica Erwin of South Charleston Southeastern.

Greeneview’s Sabrina Saunders joined Cedarville Indians Haley Melton and Maggie Coe, and the Southeastern pair of Maddy McKee and Leslie Flores on the All-OHC South Division second team.

The All-OHC South Honorable Mention team was composed of Cedarville’s Kyla Harding and McKayla Lee, Greeneview’s Kenzie Harding and Olivia Maxwell, Kerrigan Kelley of London Madison Plains, and Megan Davis of Northeastern.

Cedarville’s girls team won the OHC South with a 12-2 league record. The Indians finished with an 18-3 overall record.

Greeneview was second in the girls OHC South race. The Rams were 14-7 overall, 10-3 in the OHC.

On the All-OHC boys first team, South Division Player of the Year Andrew Lyons of Southeastern is joined by teammate Trevor King, Northeastern’s Casey Hayes and a pair of Greeneview Rams — Mason Schneider and Ethan Bradds.

Cedarville’s Colby Cross was joined by Southeastern’s Colton Spears, Northeastern’s Aaron Phillips, and Madison Plains’ duo of Hunter McConkey and Cameron Near on the All-OHC South second team.

Honorable mention boys selections were: Anthony Tesi and Jonathon Dill of Madison Plains; Northeastern’s Josh Lenk; Southeastern’s Charlie Bertemes; Greeneview’s Kollyn Brooks; and Cedarville’s Nick Christman.

Southeastern won the OHC South boys title with an undefeated 13-0 league mark. The Trojans finished with a 21-1 overall record. Greeneview finished as division runners up with a 13-8 overall record, 8-4 against OHC competition, and Cedarville was 5-15 overall, 2-11 in the OHC.

Greene County News

Information provided by the Ohio Heritage Conference.

No posts to display