Education Digest


Herald News Report

Ferrell member of crew

ASHLAND — Alyssa Ferrell of Spring Valley is a member of Ashland University’s Technical Productions Crew. Ferrell is majoring in integrated language arts. Ferrell is a 2015 graduate of Xenia High School.

The Technical Productions Crew provides technical assistance to student organizations and departments for activities and events on campus. They have assisted the Campus Activities Board in numerous events, including the Acoustic Cafes, Movie Nights, special guest hostings, and Springfest. Membership is by an application and interview process.

Students welcomed at KSU

KENT — Kent State continues strong university enrollment by welcoming a record-setting freshman class, in terms of size, diversity, and quality based on GPA. These academically motivated freshmen have an average GPA of 3.4 and an average ACT score of above 23.

Kent State University welcomes the following Greene County students into the newly enrolled Class of 2020: Anne Paquette of Dayton; Dalia Alkhawaga of Dayton; Julia Kelch of Beavercreek; Kathleen Hickey of Bellbrook; Shilpa Reddy of Fairborn and Walter Rzecznik of Beavercreek.

AU student part of organization

ASHLAND — The following students are members of the Young Life organization at Ashland University.

Alyssa Ferrell of Spring Valley is a member of Ashland University’s Young Life organization. Ferrell is majoring in integrated language arts. Ferrell is a 2015 graduate of Xenia High School.

Young Life centers on Jesus Christ, helping kids, building relationships, and cultivating leaders. Members extend their relationship with Christ outside of the Church by reaching out to local teenagers. Ashland University’s close proximity to five different high schools allows ample opportunities for Young Life to create friendships with local high school kids and introduce them to the foundations of their organization. Volunteer leaders are trained and discipled for a lifestyle of relational ministry.

Students inducted into honor society

BATON ROUGE, Lo. — The following local residents recently were initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

The following Greene County residents were initiated into Wright State University’s Phi Kappa Phi:

Dana Powers of Beavercreek; Katherine Abrahamowicz of Beavercreek; Goonmeet Kaur Bajaj of Beavercreek; Dorothy Ayres of Fairborn; Denver Huff of Beavercreek; Justin Whittington of Fairborn; Vincent Shaw of Fairborn; MacKenzie Guthrie of Fairborn; Brandon Teeple of Beavercreek; Brent Dube of Beavercreek; Ravi Kiran Alapati of Fairborn; Remona Heenkenda of Fairborn; Ademola Ikusan of Beavercreek; Sandeep Kumar Madineni of Fairborn; Zahra Meghjani of Fairborn; Srikanth Teegala of Beavercreek; Jonathan Troville of Fairborn; Syed Anwar Hyder Zaidi of Fairborn and Killashandra Rick of Bellbrook.

Victoria Murnane of Fairborn was initiated at University of South Alabama.

These residents are among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership.

Greene County News report compiled by Merrilee Embs.

No posts to display