Olson selected G-MAC Player of the Year


Greene County News

CEDARVILLE — Cedarville junior Gabby Olson is the 2016 Great Midwest Athletic Conference Volleyball Player of the Year and Doug Walters is Coach of the Year in voting conducted by the league’s coaches.

Olson, a 6-foot-4 middle hitter from Gibsonia, Pa., is joined on the first team by three teammates while three others were selected to the second team.

The announcement was made during the G-MAC Tournament Banquet at the Embassy Suites in Cincinnati.

Olson has led the top-seeded Lady Jackets to a 24-8 record overall as well as the G-MAC regular season crown with a 9-1 mark.

She averages 3.06 kills and 1.14 blocks per set while posting a .338 attack percentage. Within G-MAC play, her numbers are 3.06 kills, 1.29 blocks, and a lofty .422 attack accuracy.

Also named to the first team are 2015 Co-Player of the Year Abby Shelton, a senior outside hitter from Sparta, Ga.; Kristin Cardwell, a senior setter from Massillon; and Angela Becker, a senior libero from Denver, Colo.

Second-team honorees include Rachel Krikke, a senior middle hitter from North Royalton; Krissy Pratt, a junior outside hitter from Crystal Lake, Ill.; and Taylor Wilkerson, a sophomore outside hitter from Brookfield, Wis.

Olson joins Hannah Wagner (2013) and Shelton as Lady Jackets to be recognized as G-MAC Players of the Year.

Walters is 200-129 in his ninth season at Cedarville. He has guided the Lady Jackets to the 2012, 2013, and 2014 conference titles.

CU received a first-round bye in the G-MAC Tournament and plays Malone in a semifinal match at 7:30 p.m. Friday at the Mason Arena in Mason.

Gabby Olson
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/50/2016/11/web1_vb_olsonhedshot_PS.jpgGabby Olson

Greene County News

Story provided by the Cedarville University Athletic Department.

No posts to display