Education Digest


Herald News Report

Almotairi named to dean’s list

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — Springfield College has named Bader Almotairi of Beavercreek to the dean’s list for academic excellence for the spring 2016 term. Almotairi is studying Emergency Medical Services Management.

Criteria for selection to the dean’s list requires that the student must have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours of graded coursework for the semester, the student must not have any incompletes in the designated semester, and the student must have a minimum semester grade point average of 3.500 for the semester.

Students graduate from HU

SEARCY, Ariz. — Brittney Garringer of Jamestown and Dylan Swearingen of Dayton received diplomas at Harding University’s commencement exercises on May 7. Garringer recieved a bachelor of arts degree in journalism and Swearingen recieved a bachelor of science degree in psychology.

Locals graduate from ONU

ADA — Ohio Northern University recognized two local graduates.

Daniel Herting, son of Carl and Judy Herting of Beavercreek recently graduated from the ONU College of Engineering with bachelor of science in mechanical engineering. Herting is a graduate of Beavercreek High School.

Daniel McHugh, son of George and Chong McHugh of Fort Worth, Texas, recently graduated from the ONU College of Business Administration with a bachelor of science in business administration in pharmaceutical business. McHugh is a graduate of Beavercreek High School.

Scholarships awarded

SPRINGFIELD — Clark State Community College has awarded 60 Tech Prep Scholarships for students in area career centers.

The George Mueller Tech Prep Scholarship is for students graduating from area high schools in career technical education including engineering, computer-aided drawing and design, information technology, digital media, health occupations, cosmetology and geospatial information systems. This scholarship is for $3,000 for two years to students in a college Tech Prep program. Students must maintain a 2.0 GPA to keep the scholarship. The George Mueller Tech Prep Scholarship has been awarded since Tech Prep began in the 1990s.

Greene County Career Center students awarded the George Mueller Tech Prep Scholarship Recipients: Dalton Ballard, Brandon DeAtley, Brandon Ferguson, Micah Gates, Reanna Horsley, Kyle Little, Matthew Madson, Tedi Mangen, Bailey Nicholas, Andrew Powers, Samuel Purdin, Madison Robinson andLindsay Wilson.



Greene County News report compiled by Merrilee Embs.

No posts to display