Education Digest


Herald News Report

Spring honors list

MADISON, S.D. — Dakota State University announced its full-time and part-time students who qualified for the President’s Academic Honors list for the 2016 Spring Semester. Patrick Were of Beavercreek was a full-time student achieving this honor.

YSU freshmen selected

YOUNGSTOWN — Thirty-five incoming freshmen have been selected to enter the bachelor of science/medical degree program at Youngstown State University. Among those is Nicholas Osborne of Xenia a Xenia High School graduate. The students will complete their first two years of study at YSU before moving into a reserved seat at the Northeast Ohio Medical University.

MU awarded scholarship

OXFORD — Miami University has named Rachel Ollier a Stamps Scholar for the 2016-2017 academic year. The scholarship covers all expenses for four years of undergraduate study and also includes a monetary enrichment fund that scholars can use for their academic and professional development. Ollier is from Beavercreek and is earning a bachelor of art majoring in biochemistry.

Herting makes list

BEAVERCREEK – Elizabeth Herting of Beavercreek was named to the Cedarville University spring semester dean’s list. Herting is the daughter of Carl and Judy Herting and is a sophomore studying math education.

To be named to the dean’s list students must earn a 3.75 grade point average and carry at least 12 semester hours.

Dean’s list

CIRCLEVILLE – Two Greene County students were named to the Residential Program Dean’s List at Ohio Christian University for the Spring 2016 Semester. Evan Brouwer of Bellbrook and Olivia Wireman of Beavercreek both made the list. To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must achieve a semester GPA of 3.5 or better and be enrolled in at least 12 semester hours.

Local makes list

HAYS, Kansas – Mary Lassena Wilson of Bellbrook was one of several Ohio students named to Fort Hays State University’s Deans Honor Roll for the spring 2016 semester. To be eligible, students must have enrolled in 12 or more credit hours and have a minimum grade point average of 3.60 for the semester.

Livers receives honors

CIRCLEVILLE — Dalton Livers of Xenia, a student taking dual credit courses through OCU’s Trailblazer Academy, has been named to the dean’s list at Ohio Christian University for the Spring 2016 Semester. To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must achieve a semester GPA of 3.5 or better and be enrolled in at least 12 semester hours.

Wilmington College graduates

WILMINGTON – Wilmington College conferred 303 graduating seniors degrees at its 139th annual commencement ceremony. Graduates, some receiving special honor recognition, were from WC’s main campus, Cincinnati Branch in Blue Ash and the degree completion program at Cincinnati State Technical and Community College.

The following Greene County residents graduated: Abigail L. Simmons of Jamestown – BA education and English; the following Xenia residents, Kane E. Bradley – BA, business administration; Matthew K. Brown – BS, agriculture; William N. Foster – BS, sport management; Dillon P. Howard – BA, communication arts and sport management; Jason R. Phillips – BA, education.

UC Dean’s list, graduates

CINCINNATI – The University of Cincinnati announced its dean’s list and graduates recently.

Dean’s list

The following Greene County residents were recognized: Robert Bauer, Nicole Brant, Anthony Carenza, Zachary Center, Ouhm Desai, Kelsey Girard, Emma Hensley, Kimberly Nguyen, Kyle O’Connell, Meagan Rawers, Myles Rowland, Charles Skipper, Alexander Vinolus, Tony Bailey, Alyssa Frederick, Eric Herrmann, Andrew Honious, Anisa Kastle, Kevin Kastle, Julia Laughman, Heather McIntyre, Kelsey Paul, Alyssa Petrie, Nicholas Snyder, Alexandria Bianco, Krishan Parmar, all of Beavercreek; Kaitlin Bushroe, Kevin Chandler, Rachael Chandler, Christopher Chomic, Michael Dellon, Anna Drake, Kara Eckley, Mariam Elgafy, Ashlyn Farwell, Maison Gallimore, Ryanne Grissom, Elyse Imhoff, Melissa Kerlin, Brianne King, Eric Murphy, Natalie Nielsen, Christina Phillips, Cameron Pugh, Noah Stork, Yazmin Villaquiran, Jamie Withrow all of Bellbrook; Allyson Evans, Seth Gillespie, all of Cedarville; Sara Blakley, Joseph Boggs, Adam Katterheinrich, Marissa Kramer, Connor Applegate, Bryce Kuhn, all of Dayton; Amber Barr, Josie DeAtley, Michael Evans, Bobbi Gauder , Allison Gill, Nicholas Grilliot, Pauline Humbert, Sinjin Jones, Michelle Lee, Ashley Miller, Natalie Pazynski, Kiana Puskas, Zachary Smith, Emily Staggs, Noelle Taylor, Olivia Thompson, Caitlann Walker, Lauren White, Tanner Wolfe, all of Fairborn; Caitlyn Anderson, Luke Basler, Reed Ellison, Connor Eviston, Haley Fite, Angela Haller, Holly Harshbarger, William Hauber, Allen Johnson, Sara Luka, Colleen O’Callaghan, Apoorva Reddy, Sara Thompson, Jeffrey Wickline, Kaitlin Willhite all of Xenia; Zyna Frances Bakari, Taylor Beck, Eli Biggs, Lela Dewey, Grant Reigelsperger all of Yellow Springs.


The following Greene County residents graduated from UC recently: Briana Bauer – associate of applied science, Zachary Center – BA, Alyssa Frederick – BS in education, Kelsey Girard – BS in health sciences, Kevin Kastle – BS in architecture, Alyssa Petrie – BS in design, Emily Robillard – BS, Myles Rowland – BA, Lauren Sebastian – BS in design, Nicholas Snyder – BS in architecture, Kelsey Yerian – master of social work, all of Beavercreek; Kevin Chandler – BS in electrical engineering, Matthew Coons – BS in nursing, Ashlyn Farwell – BS in architecture, Christina Phillips – associate of applied science, Kristen Somogyi – doctor of audiology, Yazmin Villaquiran – BS in nursing, all of Bellbrook; Seth Gillespie of Cedarville – BS in design; Joseph Boggs – BS in mechanical engineering, Mindy Ferguson – doctor of pharmacy, Joseph Frank – doctor of philosophy, Adam Katterheinrich – BS in aerospace engineering, Marissa Kramer – BS, all of Dayton; Bobbi Gauder – BA, Nicholas Grilliot – BS in biomedical engineering, Michelle Lee – BS, Michelle Seymour – post-baccalaureate certificate, Zachary Smith – BS, all of Fairborn; Oliver Hardwick of Spring Valley – BS in information technology; Mendi Baker – associate of applied science, Samantha Cope – doctor of pharmacy, Nicole Erdmann – BS, Colleen O’Callaghan – BS in design, Katherine Robertson – bachelor of business administration, Megan Sanders – doctor of pharmacy, Lauren Thompson – bachelor of science in architecture, all of Xenia; Zyna Frances Bakari of Yellow Springs – bachelor of arts.

Greene County News report compiled by Merrilee Embs.

No posts to display