Marieme Lo to be inducted into Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame


Greene County News

WILBERFORCE — Central State will see one of the all-time great players in school history join the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame when Marieme Lo is inducted this weekend.

In four years at Central State University, Lo practically re-wrote the CSU women’s basketball record book. The agile 6-foot-1 athlete from Senegal is the school’s all-time leading scorer with 2,580 points and its leading rebounder with 1,268.

Lo was named NAIA Division I National Player of the Year and Great Lakes Region Player of the Year in 1998 when she averaged 24.7 points and 10.2 rebounds per game. She led the Lady Marauders to four trips to the NAIA national tournament during her career. She is one of three CSU basketball players to have her jersey retired and displayed in the rafters of Beacom/Lewis Gymnasium. In 2003, she was inducted in the Central State Athletic Hall of Fame.

Lo finished her career averaging 20.9 points and 10.3 rebounds while making 47 percent of her field goal attempts in 123 games. Between her junior and senior years at CSU, she performed on the international stage for Senegal’s victorious team in the 1997 African National Championships.

Majoring in computer information systems, she graduated with a cumulative 3.91 grade point average.

Lo will join her former coach Theresa Check, the 1965 men’s basketball team and the 1968 men’s basketball team as representatives of Central State University to be inducted into the OBHOF.

The 11th Annual Induction Ceremony will take place on Saturday at the Great Columbus Convention Center. Other members of this year’s induction class include:

Tom Thacker (University of Cincinnati)

Danny Fortson (University of Cincinnati)

Chuck Chuckovits (University of Toledo)

Al Bianchi (Bowling Green State University)

Jud Millhon (Ohio Wesleyan University)

Kevin Wilson (Ashland University)

Marcie Alberts (Ohio State University)

Joy Holmes Harris (Purdue University)

Robert “Bingo” Smith (Cleveland Cavaliers)

Steve Bankson (Baldwin-Wallace University)

Charlie Huggins (Strasburg/Indian Valley South High School)

Larry Hunter (Wittenberg/Ohio University)

Jerry Sigler (Sylvania Northview High School)

Bob Walsh (Lorain County Schools)

Carol Smith (Walnut Ridge High School)

Tim Gebhardt (Officiating)

Miami University’s Mid-American Conference championship teams of 1956-57, 1957-58, and 1958-59

The keynote speaker will be Oscar Robertson. Robertson, who was among those in the Hall of Fame’s charter class in 2006, will receive the 2016 Ohio Heritage Award, presented to a previous inductee of the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame who has left his or her mark on Ohio after an active basketball career.

For tickets and additional information on the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame, please visit – .

Marieme Lo Lo

Greene County News

No posts to display