Enon holds first organizational meeting


By Linda Collins

For the Herald

ENON — Enon Mayor Tim Howard and five of the six village council members met for the village’s 2016 organizational meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 12, and focused primarily on procedures, salary and wages as well as appointments to village committees for the New Year.

As their first order of business, council members unanimously voted to continue holding their regular sessions of council on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 7 p.m. On evenings when a special meeting is held prior to the regular session, the special meeting will begin at 7 p.m., followed by the regular session of council. All regular sessions of village council are held in council chambers at the Enon Government Center, located at 363 E. Main St.

Village council members reelected Councilman Stephen Trout as council president for 2016 and approved the appointment of Attorney Paul J. Kavanagh as the village solicitor at an established rate of pay of $125 per hour. Council members also adopted the 2016 Rules of Council in accordance with the Ohio Revised Code.

The 2016 salaries and wages for village personnel were approved and established as follows: Mayor – $8,400 annually; Council Member – $4,000 annually; Clerk/Treasurer – $12,750 annually; Village Administrator – $40,000 to $61,000 annually; Village Administrator/Police Chief – $40,000 to $65,000 annually; Water Works Superintendent -$20 to $30 per hour; Administrative Assistant/Clerk of Courts – $18 to $24 per hour; Water Treatment Plant Operator – $15 to $23 per hour; Water Treatment Plant Operator/General Laborer – $12 to $18 per hour; Water Treatment Plant Operator of Record- $500 per month; Assistant Water Treatment Plant Operator – $37.50 per day; Maintenance Foreman – $15 to $22 per hour; General Laborer – $9 to $15 per hour; Reserve Snow Plow Operator – $15 to $22 per hour; Secretary/Billing Clerk – $9 to $15.50 per hour; Clerk of Mayor’s Court – $11.75 to $16.50 per hour; Police Chief – $40,000 to $61,000 annually; Police Lieutenant – $18 to $24 per hour; Police Sergeant – $16 to $23 per hour; Police Officer – $10 to $22 per hour; Zoning Inspector – $3,500 to $4,500 annually; Mayor’s Court Magistrate – $200 per court day.

Howard reappointed Councilman Rick Hanna as chair of the Streets and Sidewalks and the Public Safety Committees. Councilman Trout and Councilwoman Lorri DeVore will serve on the Streets and Sidewalks Committee, and Trout and Councilwoman Brenda Sweet will serve on the Public Safety Committee.

Devore will serve for the first time as chair of the Public Service Committee along with Councilmen Jeremy Whitacre and Elmer Beard who will serve as committee members.

Beard will chair the Parks and Beautification Committee for the first time as well, and Whitacre and Hanna will serve on the committee.

Trout will once more chair the Finance Committee which consists of Beard and Sweet, Village Clerk/Treasurer Diana McCubbin and Howard who will also serve again in 2016.

Devore was named again as chair of the Legislative Committee that includes committee members Sweet and Whitacre.

The mayor also created the Drainage and Floodplain Committee, appointed Trout as chair and Hanna and DeVore as committee members. Howard said the committee will have the task of developing recommendations for improving floodplain management and drainage that will help protect village properties.

Howard also appointed members to the Board of Zoning Appeals and the Enon Planning Commission. Enon resident Francis (Bud) Baker will serve as president of the Board of Zoning Appeals which will include board members Lori Pettit, John Downs, Jennifer Hawks and Dawn Hensley. Retired Councilman Jerry Crane will also serve as an alternate member. Howard will continue to serve as the president of the Enon Planning Commission that will be comprised of Councilman Trout and village residents Edward Jaksic, Jerry Bennett and Rick Graver.

Council adjourned and reconvened for the first regular session of the new year.

Linda Collins | Greene County News The meeting was Jeremy Whitacre’s (right) first upon being elected.
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/50/2016/01/web1_Councilman-Jeremy-Whitacre.jpgLinda Collins | Greene County News The meeting was Jeremy Whitacre’s (right) first upon being elected.
Appointments made to committees

Linda Collins is a freelance reporter for Greene County News.

No posts to display