Local Sports Briefs


Cedarville hoops helps local family

CEDARVILLE — It’s nothing out of the ordinary for residents of a local community to come together and support a sports team. On Monday, Nov. 9, the Cedarville University women’s basketball team will rally to support local newspaper writer Michael Cooper, his wife Carey and their children, Christian, Harper and Benny.

Fans who attend that night’s exhibition game against Earlham, which begins at 7 p.m., are being asked to donate to help Cooper and his family after their Springfield home burned to the ground on October 21. The family was unharmed, but everything they owned was destroyed.

Kirk Martin, Cedarville’s head coach, has known Cooper since Martin’s days as a coach and teacher at Southeastern High School, where Cooper was a student and played multiple sports.

“Michael’s a great guy, and we always had a great relationship when he was a student at Southeastern and later on when he became a writer,” said Martin. “The most important thing is that his family is safe, but they’re basically starting from scratch when it comes to their possessions.”

Several donation jars will be set up on the night of the game for fans to donate to the family. For those who can’t make it to the game, Martin will have a donation jar in his office, Callan 132B, beginning on Thursday, Nov. 5.

In addition, donations can be made at www.youcaring.com/michael-cooper-and-carey-cooper-455417.

Bellbrook represented in league awards

The Southwestern Buckeye League released boys and girls soccer special awards Thursday afternoon.

Bellbrook junior Shane Niemeier was named the Southwestern Division Player of the Year. Kevin Terrell was named Coach of the Year after getting his team to a (15-3, 12-0 SWBL) record.

Niemeier, Spencer Powlette and Brandon Druffner were named to the SWBL First Team. Brady Tincher, Josh Lawson and Dylan Robinson were named to the Second Team. Gavin Ferrin and Rutger Marien were Honorable Mention.

For the girls, Bellbrook sophomore Audrey Spirk was named Co-Newcomer of the year along with Monroe’s Ashlynn Yarletts.

Kelsey Schoenung and Hana Midtlien were named to the SWBL First Team for the Golden Eagles. Spirk, Cassidy Bereda and Cassidy Hofacker were named to the league Second Team. Emma Spears and Bekah Vine were Honorable Mention.

Compiled by John Bombatch and Zach Gregory. Send sports information to [email protected].

No posts to display