Meeting Enon, MRT candidates


MAD RIVER TOWNSHIP — When voters in the Village of Enon and Mad River Township head to the polls on Nov. 3, they will be faced with a pool of candidates vying for a seat in several different local races.

Enon Village Council President Stephen Trout is seeking a fourth term on council as he faces first-time candidates Jeremy Whitacre and Mitch Oliver for two coveted seats, including one vacant seat up for grabs with the departure of Councilman Jerry Crane. In July, Crane announced that he would not be seeking another term on council. According to Enon Clerk/Treasure Diana McCubbin, those elected to council will receive a yearly salary of $4,000.

Incumbent Tim Howard will be the only candidate on the ballot in the mayor’s race as he seeks a second, four-year term in the Village of Enon. The mayor currently draws an annual salary of $7,500 which will increase to $8,400 in 2016.

McCubbin also filed a nomination petition to appear on the November ballot, but her petition for village clerk/treasurer was rejected after the Clark County Board of Elections determined the candidate’s petition failed to comply with state filing requirements. Therefore, the mayor will have the option to appoint McCubbin or another individual to fill the position when McCubbin’s term expires at the end of the year.

McCubbin was one of four candidates running for an elected office in the county who were not certified because of various errors on their petitions.

In the Mad River Township trustee race, incumbent Kathy Estep, who has served 16 years on the board of trustees, will defend her seat as she challenges newcomer Stuart Young. Young is the son of former Hustead Fire Chief William Young and is a captain with the Hustead Fire Department. The elected position includes an annual salary of $12,345.96 and optional medical benefits.

Mad River Township Fiscal Officer Maralee Leonard, who first took office in February 2008, will compete against three new challengers: Jackie Ashworth, Jennifer Wendling, and David Rudy. All will vie for a four-year term as township fiscal officer, which pays $21,220 annually and also provides optional medical benefits.

The race for Greenon Local School District Board of Education pits incumbents Dennis Henry and Mark Remmetter against candidates Chris Price and Beth Campbell for two seats. Henry, who is president of the school board, is seeking a sixth term in office, and Remmetter is vying for a second term on the board. According to Megan Anthony, spokesperson for the district, school board members are paid $125 per meeting.

School board meetings are typically held the third Thursday of each month. School board members also hold one organizational meeting and a number of public hearings and special meetings annually.

This newspaper will provide more information regarding the local candidates on the November ballot in the upcoming weeks.

By Linda Collins

For the Herald

Linda Collins is a freelance reporter for Greene County News.

No posts to display