Science Acedemy honors locals


Greene County News Report

COLUMBUS — Three Greene County residents were honored by the Ohio Academy of Science today as Believe in Ohio STEM Exemplars who exemplify believing in Ohio from a science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) workforce perspective.

Xenia residents Deborah Hoffer and Dr. Michael Deis and Beavercreek resident Dr. Syvillia Averett were among the 58 Ohioans honored.

Hoffer is manager of quality systems and cleanrooms at The Rogosin Institute; Deis is direcotr of advanced research and development at Wright State University and Averett is an assistant professor of mathematics at Central State University.

They will serve as role models for students to encourage them to pursue STEM careers and become entrepreneurs and innovators. Honorees are graduates of Ohio high schools, have attended higher education in Ohio or elsewhere and are now gainfully employed or retired in a STEM field in Ohio.

“These exemplars represent a broad range of STEM professions including many applied fields like agriculture, aviation and aerospace, communication and information technology, construction, education, energy, environment, manufacturing, materials, medicine and health,” said Dr. Lynn E. Elfner, CEO Emeritus of The Ohio Academy of Science and Director of Believe in Ohio. “Believe in Ohio is the only statewide Ohio student STEM education program to integrate entrepreneurship and innovation as pathways to create future jobs,” he continued.

Believe in Ohio is a student STEM entrepreneurship program of The Ohio Academy of Science, in cooperation with Entrepreneurial Engagement Ohio, and funded by The Ohio General Assembly through The Ohio Board of Regents. The program develops Ohio’s next generation of innovators to create jobs through the application of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics and to innovate new products and services.

Story courtesy of Believe in Ohio.

No posts to display