Boonshoft students honored


For Greene County News

FAIRBORN – The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) recognized the Family Medicine Interest Group of the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine as one of its 2015 Program of Excellence Award winners.

Family medicine interest groups (FMIGs) from 19 medical schools were recognized, including Ohio State University College of Medicine, Stanford School of Medicine, Columbia School of Medicine and Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

The Boonshoft School of Medicine Family Medicine Interest Group received the award for Special Consideration for Most Improved Family Medicine Interest Group.

FMIGs are medical school-sponsored, student-and faculty-run organizations that give medical students a chance to learn more about family medicine through regular meetings, workshops, leadership development opportunities and community and clinical experiences. The Program of Excellence Awards recognizes FMIGs for their efforts to promote interest in family medicine and family medicine programming.

Award winners will be honored July 31 during the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students in Kansas City, Mo.

Story courtesy of Wright State University

No posts to display