Last updated: August 20. 2014 4:47PM - 283 Views
By - jbombatch@civitasmedia.com - 937-372-4444

Jim Lewis, Jr., claimed the feature win in the Sports Stock class, Friday at Kil-Kare Raceway.
Jim Lewis, Jr., claimed the feature win in the Sports Stock class, Friday at Kil-Kare Raceway.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Points races tighten at Kil-Kare

XENIA — Kil-Kare Raceway saw Brandon Oakley, Jamie Sites, Jim Lewis, Jr., and Bill Honious each claim feature wins in their respective auto racing divisions on Friday.

The Late Models were led to the green by Oakley in his Oakley Blacktop machine. He led from start to finish in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series feature. Oakley also set quick time in qualifying.

Mike Stacy, Bill Burba, Cody Robinson and Ryan Fleming finished second through fifth. Robinson, the division’s points leader, was the dash winner with Shawn Stroble taking the heat win.

The Modified division main was dominated by Tipp City resident Jamie Sites, who has won street stock championships and now has his first modified feature. Site’s car is sponsored by Commercial Roofing.

Don Fleming, points runner up Bob Sibila, Derrick Barnette and Zach Stacy followed Sites under the checker. Stacy, the Modified points leader heading into Friday’s racing, was fast qualifier. Barnette taking the dash win.

The Sport Stock main was won by Jim Lewis, Jr., in his Performance Paint-sponsored Camaro. Lewis held off points leader Sites, current points runner up David Stump, Josh Longstreth and Bo Hoelsher to grab the win. Lewis set fast time in qualifying, with the dash win going to Stump. Shawn Stansell was the heat winner.

The Compact feature turned out to be a three-car race. Bill Honious, Paul Holley and Tony Cottrill put on a great show before finishing in that order, with Nicholas Bertke and Davey Shaw finished fourth and fifth. Honious, who leads Cottrill by just one point in the points race, was fast qualifier with Amber Holley taking the dash win.

Four Friday nights of intense auto racing remain on the schedule, with Friday’s scheduled NASCAR Whelen All-American Series also being Whelen EMT/Fire Night. Spectator gates open at 6 p.m. Admission is $10. Senior citizens (ages 65 and up), active Military, Police and Fire personnel get in for half price. Kids 12 and under, with an accompanying adult, get in free.

Bellbrook wins over Oakwood, 155-155

BELLBROOK — Thanks to a sixth-card tiebreaker, host Bellbrook remained undefeated with Monday’s win over Oakwood at Sugar Valley Country Club. Miranda Greene earned medalist honors with a 36; and Oakwood’s Connor Quigley and Andy Mayhew tied for second with 38s. Bellbrook’s Chad Bacon and the Lumberjacks’ Matt Redden were third with 39s. Bellbrook is now 3-0 overall, 1-0 in the Southwestern Buckeye League.

Springfield Northeastern 173, Cedarville 215

Indians junior Brandon Smith shot a career low and medalist round of 2-over-par 38 on the Locust Hills Golf Club front nine to lead Cedarville (0-2, 0-2 Ohio Heritage Conference), but the host Jets came away with the team win, Monday, in Springfield. Other top scores for the Indians were shot by freshman Noah Myers (a career-low 46) and Everett Tye (50).

Josh Lenk (39) and Greg Otto (40) shot the low scores for Northeastern.

Golden Eagles win Ridge Classic

DAYTON — The Bellbrook golf team of Miranda Greene (70), Alyssa Burritt (79), Matt Ratcliffe and Holden Hicks (81s) claimed first place at Friday’s Ridge Classic golf tournament, held at Kittyhawk Golf Course, in Dayton. Greene finished in a three-way tie with Andrew Bruns of Germantown Valley View and Seth Sipple of Middletown Madison for medalist honors in the 14-team event, and Burritt finished 10th overall. The event was played on the par-72 Hawk course.

Team results: 1. Bellbrook 311; 2. Eaton 317; 3. Valley View 326; 4. Brookville 335; 5, Madison 338; 6. Waynesville 339; 7. Chaminade Julienne 355; 8. Middletown Christian 360; 9. Milton-Union 361; 10. Franklin 362; 11. Stebbins 398; 12. Cedarville 448; 13. West Carrollton 470; 14. Northridge 475.

Top 10 Individuals: 1. Andrew Bruns, Valley View, Miranda Greene, Bellbrook, Seth Sipple, Madison, 70; 4. Cameron Willis, Eaton, 74; 5. Andrew Ferguson, Eaton, Joey Smedley, Milton-Union, 76; 7. Sarah Willis, Eaton, 78; 8. Collin Kindell, Brookville, Lee Castle, Waynesville, Alyssa Burritt, Bellbrook 79.

Raiders third in soccer poll

FAIRBORN — The Wright State women’s soccer team was picked third in the Horizon League Preseason Poll, which was released Tuesday by the league office. Voting was conducted by the nine head coaches in the league.

The Raiders, under 10th-year head coach Pat Ferguson, finished 8-5-5 overall last season and were second in the league standings with a 5-1-1 mark, including a 1-0 win over eventual regular-season and tournament champion Milwaukee at Alumni Field.

Milwaukee was selected as the preseason favorite with six first-place votes and 62 points overall while Oakland edged WSU for the second spot with one first-place vote and 51 points for the Golden Grizzlies compared to one first-place vote and 50 points for the Raiders.

Wright State opens the regular season this week against back-to-back Atlantic Coast Conference opponents as the Raiders host Louisville at 7 p.m. Friday, followed by a trip to Wake Forest for a 5 p.m. match on Monday.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Fairborn Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com