May library programs set


Fairborn Daily Herald



FAIRBORN — Programs for people of all ages are being planned in May at the Fairborn Community Library. The library is located at 1 E. Main Street. Some programs require registration. To do so, call 937-878-9383.

Heart of Darkness Book Club for grades 6-12, 3:30-4:30 p.m. Monday, May 1. Do books about vampires, zombies, ghosts, and other supernatural creatures give you a thrill? Join us to discuss this month’s book, and enjoy tasty snacks. P Registration required.

Wildflowers of Spring for adults, 6:30-8 p.m. Monday, May 1. Learn about the beautiful wildflowers of our area, where and when to see them, and their interesting history. Registration required.

Lunch with the Librarian: A Book Club for Homeschooling Kids for grades K-8, 12-1 p.m. Tuesday, May 2. Bring your lunch and anything you’ve been reading. Registration required.

Nursery Song and Sign for ages 6-23 months with adult 10:30-11 a.m. Wednesday, May 3. Registration required.

Music Jamboree with Dorie! for ages 2-5, 11:15-11:45 p.m. Wednesday, May 3. Children love singing, moving and dancing to lively guitar music with Dorie! Registration required.

Lego Mania for grades K-8, 4-5 p.m. Thursday, May 4. Spend an hour with friends and Lego. Registration required.

Bookin’ & Cookin’ Book Discussion: When We Meet Again for adults, 6-7:30 p.m. Thursday, May 4. Meet to discuss When We Meet Again by Kristin Harmel. Participants bring food to share, something related to the book. Registration required.

Friday Family Movie, 4-5:30 p.m. Friday, May 5. Start your weekend on a positive note by joining us for a fun family movie.

Chess for Kids! for ages 8-17, 2-3 p.m. Saturday, May 6. Learn how to play this classic board game through play and instruction. Registration required.

Crafty Kids: Mother’s Day Edition for grades K-5, 10:30-11:30 a.m. Saturday, May 6. Make a beautiful Mother’s Day craft. Registration required.

A Lovely Morning Tea Party for adults, 10:30-11:30 a.m. Saturday, May 6. Enjoy an adults-only tea party — an elegant, relaxing time. Registration required.

Music FUNdamentals! for ages 2-6 with adult, 10:30-11:15 a.m. Monday, May 8. Music is critical to the development of language and listening skills. Registration required.

PJ Family Story Time for ages 3-6 with adult 6:30-7 p.m. Monday, May 8, 22.

DIY Monday for grades 6-12, 3:30-4:30 p.m.Monday, May 8. Feeling crafty? Get creative with this month’s do-it-yourself project. Registration required.

Japanimania for grades 6-12, 6:30-7:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 9. Are you a fan of all things Japanese? Watch Anime, discuss Manga and cosplay, create crafts and more.

Preschool Story Time for ages 3-5 with adult 10:30-11 a.m. Wednesday, May 10, 17, 24, 12:30- 1 p.m. May 11, 18, 25.

Story Stroll: Baby and Toddler Outdoor Story Time for ages 0-3 years with adult 10:30-11:15 a.m. Friday, May 12, 19, 26. Registration required.

The Whovians Club for grades 6-12, 2-4 p.m. Saturday, May 13. A group for creative, humorous and obsessed fans of Doctor Who. Registration required.

Fairborn Writers Group for ages adults, 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Saturday, May 13, 27. Meet other writers, get feedback and support for your creative writing projects. Registration required.

Creative Craft Hour: Paracord Necklace for adults, 10:30-12 Saturday, May 13. JoAnn McKee shows how to weave a necklace out of parachute cord. Registration required.

Pizza and Pages Middle School Book Club for grades 6-8, 4-5 p.m. Monday, May 15. Enjoy pizza while discussing this month’s great book. Registration required.

Fairborn Community Library’s ESOL Conversation Group for adults, will be held at the The Inside Scoop ice cream shop, 313 W. Main St., 6-7:30 p.m. Monday, May 15. Practice your English in a friendly group. Conversation topics will be emailed ahead of each meeting. Treats included. Registration required.

Read & Feed Book Club for grades 9-12, 3:30-4:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 17. Enjoy pizza while we discuss this month’s great book. Registration required.

Gallifreyan Society for adults, 1-3 p.m. Saturday, May 20. Adult Fans of Doctor Who, Allons-Y! Activities, crafts, watch episodes, have brilliant discussions, play games. Registration required.

Family Craft: Small Spring Wreaths for adults, 10:30-11:30 a.m. Saturday, May 20. Anne Breden leads this inter-generational crafting group. Registration required.

Book Nuts Book Club for grades 3-5, 4-5 p.m. Monday, May 22. Meet with other kids to talk about books, and enjoy snacks and activities too. Registration required.

Knitting Group for adults, 6:30-7:30 p.m. Monday, May 22. Beginner and experienced knitters gather to knit and chat. Registration required.

Bookworms Book Club for grades K-2 will be held 4-4:45 p.m. Wednesday, May 24. Meet other beginning readers who love books, and enjoy crafts, games, and snacks, too. Registration required.

Mystery Book Discussion: The Girl on the Train for adults, 6:30-7:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 24. Discuss The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins. Registration required.

Super Saturday Family Story Time for ages 2-6 with adult 10:30-11:15 a.m. Saturday, May 27.

For a complete schedule of activities, stop by your local library or log on to the library website at www.greenelibrary.info.

Fairborn Daily Herald

Story courtesy of the Fairborn Community Library.

Story courtesy of the Fairborn Community Library.