Wright State University Theatre presents Les Misérables

March 13, 2014

FAIRBORN — Wright State University Theatre continues its 39th season in the Festival Playhouse with the multiple Tony Award winning Les Misérables March 20 through April 6.

The production features a cast of forty actors, singers and dancers, supported by a crew of equal number; a large revolving stage, lavish costumes and sets, and an orchestra of 18. It’s literally been a production 20 years in the making, according to department chair, W. Stuart McDowell.

“It’s been a show we’ve wanted to do ever since I first arrived as chair two decades ago, and is a culmination of all of many of our programs drawing students from across the country. We have a cast that comes from six states, including Michigan, Oregon, Kentucky, Georgia and virtually every corner of Ohio,” McDowell said.

This acclaimed musical masterpiece made its Broadway debut in 1987, ran for 16 year and has been remounted on Broadway and multiple tours several times since, including the present season on Broadway. It continues its record-breaking run on London’s West End. As the Wright State Theatre production opens, Les Misérables is also being remounted on Broadway featuring a Wright State Theatre alumna, Heidi Giberson, who is in the ensemble and understudying the lead role of Cosette.

Wright State’s Les Misérables is directed by W. Stuart McDowell (The Phantom of the Opera, Jekyll and Hyde), choreographed by Guest Choreographer Dyonisia Williams (Wright State Theatre’s Spring Awakening), the set is designed by Pam Lavarnway, lighting by Erin Jones and Matt Benjamin, properties by John Lavarnway, and sound by James Dunlap.

On the stage, this production features Andrew Quiett as Jean Valjean, Law Dunford as Javert, Amy Wheeler as Fantine, Ian Benjamin as Thenardier, Cassi Mikat as Madame Thenardier, Zack Steele (Marius), Kaitlyn Sage (Cosette), Liz Romey (Eponine), and Mark Beyer (Enjolras). The ensemble inclues Tyrell Reggins (Bishop of Digne), Connor Lysholm (Combeferre), Brandon Kinley (Feuilly), Bailey Olean (Joly), Keaton Eckhoff (Grantaire), Jim Miller (Lesgles), Drew Bowen (Jean Prouvaire), Owen Kresse (Montrparnasse), Peter Cutler (Babet), King Jones (Brujon), Brandon Ramos (Claquesou), Kate Meuller (Lady 1), Bradley Farmer (Lady 2), Emsie Hapner (Lady 3), Alyson Snyder (Lady 4), Paige Dobkins (Lady 5), Bailey Edmonds (Lady 6), Abby Murray Vachon (Lady 7), Sabria Wynn (Lady 8), and Kelsey Pohl (innkeeper’s Wife). Making their Wright State Stage debuts are Emma Fry (Little Cossette), Abby Fry (Younge Eponine), and Connor Iverson (Gavroche).

Performances are 7 p.m. March 20 and 27, April 2 and 3; 8 p.m. March 21, 22, 28 and 29, April 4 and 5; and 2 p.m. March 23, 29 and 30, and April 5 and 6. Tickets are $22 for adults, $20 for seniors and students.

For tickets and theatre information call the Box Office at 937-775-2500, or order them online at www.wright.edu/tdmp. Click on theatre, and follow the link to buy tickets now.